Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book Lists

Bram Stoker Awards

"The Bram Stoker Award is a recognition presented annually by the Horror Writers Association (HWA) for "superior achievement" in dark fantasy and horror writing. The Awards have been presented annually since 1987, and the winners are selected by ballot of the Active members of the HWA." Click here to visit the official website.

Bram Stoker Awards

Best Novel

Best First Novel

Finalists

  • In the Valley of the Sun by Andy Davidson
  • What Do Monsters Fear by Matt Hayward
  • The Boulevard Monster by Jeremy Hepler
  • Kill Creek by Scott Thomas

Best Young Adult Novel

Best Fiction Collection

Finalists

  • And Her Smile Will Untether the Universe by Gwendolyn Kiste
  • Goblin by Josh Malerman
  • The Carp-Faced Boy and Other Tales by Thersa Matsuura
  • Writing Madness by Patrick McGrath

Best Anthology

Finalists

  • Sycorax's Daughters by Kinitra Brooks, PhD. & others (eds.)
  • Black Feathers: Dark Avian Tales by Ellen Datlow (ed)
  • Nights of the Living Dead by Jonathan Maberry & George Romero
  • The Beauty of Death Vol. 2: Death by Water by Alessandro Manzetti & Jodi Renee Lester

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

  • Horror in Space: Critical Essays on a Film Subgenre by Michele Brittany
  • Searching for Sycorax: Black Women's Hauntings of Contemporary Horror by Kinitra D. Brooks
  • The Art of Horror Movies: An Illustrated History by Stephen Jones
  • Where Nightmares Come From: The Art of Storytelling in the Horror Genre by Joe Mynhardt & Eugene Johnson

Best Poetry Collection

Finalists

  • Visions of the Mutant Rain Forest by Robert Frazier & Bruce Boston
  • No Mercy by Alessandro Manzetti
  • Satan's Sweethearts by Marge Simon & Mary Turzillo
  • Sheet Music to My Acoustic Nightmare by Stephanie Wytovich

Best Graphic Novel

Best Screenplay

Best Novel

Best First Novel

Finalists

  • The Apothecary's Curse - Barbara Barnett
  • Hollow House - Greg Chapman
  • Mayan Blue - Michelle Garza & Melissa Lason
  • The Eighth - Stephanie M. Wytovich

Best Young Adult Novel

Finalists

Best Fiction Collection

Finalists

  • Swift to Chase - Laird Barron
  • A Long December - Richard Chizmar
  • Lethal Birds - Gene O'Neill
  • American Nocturne - Hank Schwaeble

Best Anthology

Finalists

  • Chiral Mad 3 - Michael Bailey (Ed.)
  • The Beauty of Death - Alessandro Manzetti (Ed.)
  • Fright Mare - Women Write Horror - Billie Sue Mosiman (Ed.)
  • Gutted: Beautiful Horror Stories - Doug Murano & D. Alexander Ward (Eds.)

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

  • Haunted: On Ghosts, Witches, Vampires, Zombies, and Other Monsters of the Natural and Supernatural Worlds - Leo Braudy
  • Guillermo del Toro's "The Devil's Backbone" and "Pan's Labyrinth" - Daniel P. Olson
  • In the Mountains of Madness: The Life and Extraordinary Afterlife of H.P. Lovecraft - W. Scott Poole
  • Something in the Blood: The Untold Story of Bram Stoker, the Man Who Wrote Dracula - David J. Skal
  • The Gothic Worlds of Peter Straub - John C. Tibbetts

Best Poetry Collection

Finalists

  • Sacrificial Nights - Bruce Boston & Alessandro Manzetti
  • Corona Obscura - Michael R. Collings
  • Field Guide to the End of the World - Jeannine Hall Gailey
  • Small Spirits - Marge Simon

Best Graphic Novel

Finalists

  • Blood Feud - Cullen Bunn
  • No Mercy: Vol. 2 - Alex de Campi
  • Outcast, Vol. 3: This Little Light - Robert Kirkman
  • The Steam Man - Mark Alan Miller & Joe R. Lansdale
  • Providence: Act 1 - Alan Moore

Best Screenplay

Finalists

 

Best Novel

Finalists

  • The Scarlet Gospels - Clive Barker
  • The Deep - Michaelbrent Collings
  • The Cure - J.G. Faherty
  • Black Tide - Patrick Freivald

Best First Novel

Finalists

Best Young Adult Novel

Finalists

Best Graphic Novel

Finalists

Best Screenplay

Best Anthology

Finalists

Best Fiction Collection

Finalists

  • Halfway Down the Stairs - Gary A. Braunbeck
  • The Mirrors - Nicole Cushing
  • The Dark at the End of the Tunnel - Taylor Grant
  • The Hitchhiking Effect - Gene O'Neill

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

  • The Unique Legacy of Weird Tales: The Evolution of Modern Fantasy and Horror - Justin Everett & Jeffrey H. Shanks (Eds.)
  • Author's Guide to Marketing With Teeth - Michael Knost
  • Horror 201: The Silver Scream - Joe Mynhardt & Emma Audsley
  • Studies in the Horror Film: Stanley Kubrick's The Shining - Daniel Olson

Best Poetry Collection

Finalists

  • Resonance Dark and Light - Bruce Boston
  • Dark Energies - Ann Schwader
  • Naughty Ladies - Marge Simon
  • An Exorcism of Angels - Stephanie M. Wytovich

Best Novel

Finalists

Best First Novel

Finalists

Best Young Adult Novel

Finalists

Best Graphic Novel

Finalists

Best Screenplay

Best Anthology

Finalists

  • Qualia Nous - Michael Bailey (Ed.)
  • A Darke Phantastique - Jason V. Brock (Ed.)
  • Burnt Tongues - Chuck Palahniuk, Richard Thomas, & Dennis Widmyer (Eds.)
  • Limbus, Inc., Book II - Brett J. Talley (Ed.)

Best Fiction Collection

Finalists

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

  • Disorders of Magnitude - Jason V. Brock
  • Lovecraft and a World in Transition - S.T. Joshi
  • The New Annotated H.P. Lovecraft - Leslie S. Klinger
  • Horror 101: The Way Forward - Joe Mynhardt & Emma Audsley

Best Poetry Collection

Finalists

  • Fearworms: Selected Poems - Robert Payne Cabeen
  • Venus Intervention - Corrine de Winter & Alessandro Manzetti
  • Sweet Poison - Marge Simon & Mary Turzillo
  • Mourning Jewelry - Stephanie Wytovich

Best Novel

Finalists

Best First Novel

Finalists

Best Young Adult Novel

Best Graphic Novel

Finalists

Best Screenplay

Finalists

 

Best Anthology

Finalists

  • Horror Library, Vol. 5 - R.J. Cavender & Boyd E. Harris (Eds.)
  • Barbers & Beauties - Michael Knost & Nancy Eden Siegel (Eds.)
  • The Grimscribe's Puppets - Joseph S. Pulver (Ed.)
  • Dark Visions: A Collection of Modern Horror, Vol. 1 - Anthony Rivera & Sharon Lawson (Eds.)

Best Fiction Collection

Finalists

  • North American Lake Monsters: Stories - Nathan Ballingrud
  • The Tears of Isis - James Dorr
  • The Ape's Wife and Other Stories - Caitlin R. Kiernan
  • Dance of the Blue Lady - Gene O'Neill
  • Bible Stories for Secular Humanists - S.P. Somtow

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

  • Images of the Modern Vampire: The Hip and the Atavistic - Barbara Brodman and James E. Doan (Eds.)
  • Ramsey Campbell: Critical Essays on the Modern Master of Horror - Gary William Crawford (Ed.)
  • The Intermedial Experience of Horror: Suspended Failures - Jarkko Toikkanen
  • Lovecraft and Influence: His Predecessors and Successors - Robert H. Waugh (Ed.)

Best Poetry Collection

Finalists

  • Dark Roads: Selected Long Poems 1971-2012 - Bruce Boston
  • The Sex Lives of Monsters - Helen Marshall
  • Dangerous Dreams - Marge Simon & Sandy DeLuca
  • Hysteria: A Collection of Madness - Stephanie M. Wytovich

Best Novel

Finalists

  • Bottled Abyss - Benjamin Kane Ethridge
  • NightWhere -John Everson
  • Bentley Little - The Haunted
  • Inheritence - Joe McKinney

Best First Novel

Finalists

Best Young Adult Novel

Best Graphic Novel

Finalists

  • The Sixth Gun, Vol. 3: Bound - Cullen Bunn
  • Rachel Rising, Vol. 1: The Shadow of Death - Terry Moore
  • The Tale of Brin and Bent and Minno Marylebone - Ravi Thornton
  • Behind These Eyes - Peter J. Wacks & Guy Anthony De Marco

Best Screenplay

Best Anthology

Finalists

  • Dark Tales of Lost Civilizations - Eric J. Guignard (Ed.)
  • Hell Comes to Hollywood - Eric Miller (Ed.)
  • Horror for Good: A Charitable Anthology - Mark C. Scioneaux, R.J. Cavender, & Robert S. Wilson (Eds.)
  • Slices of Flesh - Stan Swanson (Ed.)

Best Fiction Collection

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

Best Poetry Collection

Finalists

  • Dark Duet - Linda Addison & Stephen M. Wilson
  • Notes From the Shadow City - Bruce Boston & Gary William Crawford
  • A Verse to Horrors - Michael Collings
  • Lovers & Killers - Mary A. Turzillo