Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Award Winners

"The Locus Awards are an annual set of literary awards by the science fiction and fantasy magazine Locus, a monthly magazine based in Oakland, California, United States. The Locus Awards are chosen by a survey of readers in an open online poll that runs during the spring." Click here to view a complete database of winners and nominees.

Locus Awards

Best Science Fiction Novel

Best Fantasy Novel

Finalists

Best Horror Novel

Best YA Novel

Best First Novel

Best Novella

Finalists

Best Anthology

Finalists

  • Cosmic Powers by John Joseph Adams (ed.)
  • Black Feathers by Ellen Datlow (ed.)
  • The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Thirty-Fourth Annual Collection by Gardner Dozois (ed.)
  • Bookburners by Max Gladstone (ed.)
  • The Djinn Falls in Love and Other Stories by Mahvesh Murad & Jared Shurin (eds.)
  • The Best of Subterranean by William Schafer (ed.)
  • The Best Science Fiction & Fantasy of the Year, Volume Eleven by Jonathan Strahan (ed.)
  • Infinity Wars by Jonathan Strahan (ed.)
  • Transcendent 2: The Year’s Best Transgender Speculative Fiction by Bogi Takács

Best Collection

Finalists

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

  • Sleeping with Monsters: Readings and Reactions in Science Fiction and Fantasy by Liz Bourke
  • In Search of Silence: The Journals of Samuel R. Delany, Volume 1, 1957-1969 by Samuel R. Delaney
  • The Invention of Angela Carter by Edmund Gordon
  • Star-Begotten: A Life Lived in Science Fiction by James Gunn
  • Iain M. Banks by Paul Kincaid
  • Not So Good a Gay Man by Frank M. Robinson
  • Don’t Live for Your Obituary by John Scalzi
  • A Lit Fuse: The Provocative Life of Harlan Ellison by Nat Segaloff
  • J.G. Ballard by D. Harlan Wilson

Best Science Fiction Novel

Best Fantasy Novel

Best Horror Novel

Best Young Adult Novel

Best First Novel

Best Novella

Best Collection

Finalists

  • The Found and the Lost: The Collected Novellas of Ursula K. LeGuin by Ursula K. LeGuin
  • The Complete Orsinia by Ursula K. LeGuin
  • Beyond the Aqua Rift: The Best of Alastair Reynolds by Alastair Reynolds
  • Not So Much, Said the Cat by Michael Swanwick

Best Anthology

Finalists

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

Best Science Fiction Novel

Best Fantasy Novel

Best Young Adult Novel

Best First Novel

Best Novella

Finalists

  • Penric's Demon by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
  • The Citadel of Weeping Pearls by Aliette de Bodard
  • The Four Thousand, the Eight Hundred by Greg Egan

Best Collection

Finalists

  • Three Moments of an Explosion by China Mieville
  • The Best of Gregory Benford by Gregory Benford
  • Dancing Through the Fire by Tanith Lee
  • The Best of Nancy Kress by Nancy Kress

Best Anthology

Finalists

  • The Year's Best Science Fiction: Thirty Second Annual Collection by Gardner Dozois (ed.)
  • Stories For Chip: A Tribute to Samuel R. Delany by Nisi Shawl & Bill Campbell (eds.)
  • Hanzai Japan: Fantastical, Futuristic Stories of Crime From and About Japan by Nick Mamatas & Masumi Washington (eds.)
  • Meeting Infinity by Jonathan Strahan (ed.)

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

  • The Culture Series of Iain M. Banks by Simone Caroti
  • Ray Bradbury by David Seed
  • Lois McMaster Bujold by Edward James
  • Frederik Pohl by Michael R. Page

Best Science Fiction Novel

Best Fantasy Novel

Finalists

Best Young Adult Novel

Finalists

Best First Novel

Finalists

Best Novella

Finalists

Best Collection

Finalists

  • Academic Exercises by KJ Parker
  • The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg, Volume Nine: The Millennium Express by Robert Silverberg
  • Questionable Practices by Eileen Gunn
  • The Collected Short Fiction Volume One: The Man Who Made Models by RA Lafferty

Best Anthology

Finalists

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

Best Science Fiction Novel

Best Fantasy Novel

Best Young Adult Novel

Best First Novel

Finalists

Best Novella

Finalists

  • Wakulla Springs by Andy Duncan & Ellen Klages
  • The Princess and the Queen by George RR Martin
  • Black Helicopters by Caitlin R. Kiernan
  • Precious Mental by Robert Reed

Best Collection

Finalists

  • The Best of Joe Haldeman by Joe Haldeman
  • The Bread We Eat in Dreams by Catherynne M. Valente
  • Kabu Kabu by Nnedi Okorafor
  • The Ape's Wife and Other Stories by Caitlin R. Kiernan

Best Anthology

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

Finalists

Best Science Fiction Novel

Best Fantasy Novel

Best Young Adult Novel

Finalists

Best First Novel

Finalists

Best Novella

Finalists

  • The Stars Do Not Lie by Jay Lake
  • The Boolean Gate by Walter John Williams
  • In the House of Aryaman, a Lonely Signal Burns by Elizabeth Bear
  • On a Red Station, Drifting by Aliette de Bodard

Best Collection

Finalists

  • The Best of Kage Baker by Kage Baker
  • At the Mouth of the River of Bees by Kij Johnson
  • The Unreal and the Real: Selected Stories Volume One: Where on Earth and Volume Two: Outer Space, Inner Lands by Ursula K. LeGuin
  • The Dragon Griaule by Lucius Shepard

Best Anthology

Finalists

  • The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-ninth Annual Collection by Gardner Dozois (ed.)
  • After by Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling (Ed.)
  • The Future is Japanese by Nick Mamatas & Masumi Washington (Eds.)
  • The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year Volume Six by Jonathan Strahan (ed.)

Best Nonfiction

Finalists

  • Science Fiction: The 101 Best Novels 1985-2010 by Damien Broderick & Paul Di Filippo
  • Some Remarks by Neal Stephenson
  • The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature by Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn (eds.)
  • An Exile on Planet Earth by Brian Aldiss